USA Elections and our political leaders

Posted: 19/09/2012 in Uncategorized

I have been following the election debate in the USA and kept asking myself in amazement why the Repulicans would even consider a candidate like Mitt Romney.
I listened to his gaffs and his lies as well as his misinformation being peddled as facts and thought to myself how can the voters in America be so easily fooled.

Suddenly it hit me that what I was thinking was not really valid as we have Cameron and Clegg in power who are equally as dumb as Romney.
My sense of political nouse and superiority was destroyed and I had to take a long reflective look at our politicians through a different lens.
We may say that at least we are not in the same mess as Greece or Italy or Spain but look closely and you will see that we are well on the way to the same dire straits that face these countries.
The cuts are still in their infancy and we still have not got any ideas about how to create a new way of working that does not penalise the poor and less well off.
More of the same will not do and I am at a loss when I look at what is on offer.
I am a Labour voter and supporter but to date they have not convinced me that what they offer is any different to the soi dissant coalition.
Ed Balls, once seen as a leading light is now failing to glimmer let alone shine and Ed M although improving his performance does not fill me with confidence.
The Fabian Society have produced an interesting document called The Economic Alternative which is worth a read and gives us hope for a better future and a different sort of capitalism.
Let’s hope that Labour leaders read it and act on some of the ideas therein

Comments
  1. Helen Wheat says:

    Pessimist….

    Helen Wheat ITQ Assessor Kendal College

    Tel: 01539 814700 Mobile: 07525 234436

Leave a Reply

